https://www.buzzfeed.com/rewind
 

Meet the Face Behind the Work, Kayli Merritt

Hi! I have avoided writing this little synopsis about myself because, honestly, I had no idea what to write. My name is Kayli Lauren Merritt, or as my niece Karsen likes to call me, Kayli “Laurens” Merritt (as you will read below, I do work in Laurens, SC so maybe Karsen is onto something).



I’ll start from the beginning. I was born in Greenville, South Carolina (was it Greenville General or Greenville Memorial - still an ongoing debate between my parents) on a hot summer Monday in August. I’m 29 years old and holding for the past 10 years. I grew up in the “Flower Pot of the Nation”, Piedmont, SC. You may ask why we refer to Piedmont as the “Flower Pot of the Nation”, stay tuned for a future blog on this All-American town.


I graduated from Wren High School (Go Canes) and moved on to Clemson University (Go Tigers) where I spent several years changing majors and living the college ultimate college dream, spending most of my time hanging out at the Esso Club and enjoying the nightlife instead of focusing on academics and my future. Needless to say, my educator father was not happy with my academic prowess in Tiger Town so I transferred to the University of South Carolina Upstate (Go Spartans) and I now hold a Bachelor’s Degree from the fine University of South Carolina. I’ll always be a Clemson Tiger at heart no matter what a piece of paper says.

As I was fumbling my way through college, I had no clue what I wanted to make of my life. As a child, I had all of the usual career aspirations - pediatrician, lawyer, teacher, marine biologist, etc. Wait, becoming a marine biologist is not an aspiration of all children? I thought all kids were as enamored as I was with the movie Jaws 3. Oh well, so much for my childhood dreams. Thanks to the help of the aforementioned educator father and my supportive mother, I finally found my niche in the human resources world.

Upon graduation from college, I landed my first HR gig at a healthcare company (Thanks Lisa Monroe for taking a chance on a young and inexperienced girl). I have worked in the HR field for the past 15 years and even decided to further pursue my education (shocking after my earlier collegiate performance), but I persevered and received my Masters Degree in 2015. I am currently the HR Manager at a great company with even greater people in Laurens, SC.

I wear many hats, including, daughter, sister, sister-in-law, friend, employee, listener, coach. I am the proud aunt of three wonderful children whom I love as if they were my own - Merritt, Davis, and Karsen. In my free time, I enjoy reading, listening to audiobooks (true crime is my fave), horseback riding, sports, spending time with family and friends, and shopping - no better cure for the quarantine blues than a little online shopping. I also love to travel and see different parts of our great country and the world. Thanks to a little hypnotherapy, I overcame my fear of flying and am looking forward to a COVID-free world so I can continue to enjoy the beauty of the Earth that God created.



IMG-5950_edited.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram